It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 5:40 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2011 10:15 pm 
Offline
TMExpert

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 111
Yeah, this is pretty ridiculous. Would love to get an ETA on a patch/fix.

_________________
Travis Illig
Sr. Software Developer, Electronic Banking Services
Fiserv
http://www.fiserv.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 7:35 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:50 am
Posts: 38
Lame indeed...

But there is a fix:
Close VS, Uninstall Isolator, Install this patch:
http://www.typemock.com/files/TypemockI ... tup609.msi

Sorry guys.

Regards,
Yonatan,
Typemock Support


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 3:24 pm 
Offline
TMExpert

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 111
Followed the steps and I still have a metric ton of entries.

Running VS2010 SP1 on Win2008 R2 (64-bit) as a non-admin user.

_________________
Travis Illig
Sr. Software Developer, Electronic Banking Services
Fiserv
http://www.fiserv.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 3:58 pm 
Offline
TMExpert

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 111
OK, I figured it out. It's a little more complex than what was suggested, but not much.

First, close VS and uninstall Typemock Isolator.

Next, open VS and see if you still have residual entries. I DID. If you do, you need to run this macro:

Code:
Imports System
Imports EnvDTE
Imports EnvDTE80
Imports EnvDTE90
Imports EnvDTE90a
Imports EnvDTE100
Imports System.Diagnostics
Imports Microsoft.VisualStudio.CommandBars

Public Module Module1
    Sub FixTypemockEntries()
        Dim window As OutputWindow
        Dim pane As OutputWindowPane

        window = DTE.ToolWindows.OutputWindow
        pane = window.OutputWindowPanes.Add("Macro Results")
        pane.Clear()
        pane.OutputString("Starting removal of quickstart entries...")
        pane.OutputString(Environment.NewLine)

        Dim bar As CommandBar
        bar = DTE.CommandBars.Item("Help")
        Dim count As Int32
        Dim found As Boolean

        count = 0
        Do
            found = False
            For Each item As CommandBarControl In bar.Controls
                If item.Caption = "Typemock Isolator Quickstart" Then
                    item.Delete()
                    count += 1
                    found = True
                End If
            Next
        Loop While found = True

        pane.OutputString(String.Format("Removed {0} instances of Typemock Isolator Quickstart.{1}", count, Environment.NewLine))
    End Sub
End Module


That will remove the residual entries and you'll see a note in the Output window telling you how many were nuked.

Close and reopen Visual Studio. Make sure the entries are STILL gone. They should be.

If you have multiple users on the same machine that see this, you need to run the macro for ALL OF THEM. So, like, if you develop as a non-admin user and you have a different user account for developing as an administrator, you'll need to run that for both accounts.

Now close Visual Studio and install that patch. You'll get the one correct entry put back into the Help menu and the rest of the entries should be gone.

_________________
Travis Illig
Sr. Software Developer, Electronic Banking Services
Fiserv
http://www.fiserv.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 4:37 pm 
Offline
TMExpert

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 111
...of course, it appears this patch includes more than just the VS fix, which means I have a few tests breaking, so that's not good, either. Sigh.

_________________
Travis Illig
Sr. Software Developer, Electronic Banking Services
Fiserv
http://www.fiserv.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 8:43 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:52 am
Posts: 133
So sorry about that, Travis. :oops:

Could you send us a repro, or perhaps we can do an online session to solve it?

Thanks!

_________________
Igal Tabachnik
Typemock Support


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 3:20 pm 
Offline
TMExpert

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 111
No need - I got it fixed, it was just another one of those things where in the newer version the mocking got a little more accurate in the chained scenario, which is good in 99% of the cases except when one of your developers writes a test that takes advantage of the defect that was fixed.

Our problem was in a couple of tests where Members.ReturnRecursiveFakes used to be returning null but now returns an actual object (or vice versa) - the dev had made one assumption and that changed. Fixed the test by manually specifying what was expected rather than letting it fall to chance.

_________________
Travis Illig
Sr. Software Developer, Electronic Banking Services
Fiserv
http://www.fiserv.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2011 7:08 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:52 am
Posts: 133
Thanks, Travis, for letting us know.

Was this an upgrade from version 6.0.8, or an earlier version? I'd like to make extra sure when was this behavior changed.

_________________
Igal Tabachnik
Typemock Support


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2011 3:03 pm 
Offline
TMExpert

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 111
It was an upgrade from 6.0.8.

_________________
Travis Illig
Sr. Software Developer, Electronic Banking Services
Fiserv
http://www.fiserv.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 1:21 pm 
Offline
Advanced
Advanced

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 10:58 pm
Posts: 21
It is a little late to report this, but version 6.09 fixes the perpetually expanding menu problem.

Unlike earlier posters, I did not have to run a macro to get rid of the extra items. After uninstalling the old version, all I had to do was bring up VS and click on one of the bogus entries. VS detects they are invalid at this point, and offers to remove them for me. It removes all of them.

Follow that with an install of 6.09, and all is good.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:25 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:16 pm
Posts: 69
I have this problem from a clean install of Typemock Isolator 2010.

Is there a solution that applies to this version?

_________________
Dave Black, MCPD, MCTS
.NET Solutions Architect/Developer
http://dave-black.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:20 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:50 am
Posts: 38
Hi,

Which version exactly do you have installed?
You can check that using Typemock -> Configuration.

_________________
Regards

Yonatan Eldar,
TypeMock Support Group


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:40 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:16 pm
Posts: 69
It looks like it is 6.08. I was under the impression that "Isolator 2010" was the 7.x version and replaced the 6.x version.

It would seem then that I need to run the 6.09 hotfix as mentioned above. Is this something I can install over the top of 6.08? If not, please verify that these are the correct steps to resolve the problem:

1. uninstall 6.08
2. execute the macro as presented above
3. install 6.09

Please verify - thank you for your time.

_________________
Dave Black, MCPD, MCTS
.NET Solutions Architect/Developer
http://dave-black.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 8:24 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:50 am
Posts: 38
Hi,

Yes, it should work. You can follow the instructions of billster a few posts back on this thread - it should be fine.

Version 6.0.9 and above is OK.

_________________
Regards

Yonatan Eldar,
TypeMock Support Group


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 3:11 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:16 pm
Posts: 69
Just wanted to provide an alternative solution to running the VS Macro (which didn't seem to work for me). Plus, this solution is much quicker:

1. Close all instances of VisualStudio
2. Uninstall TypeMock
3. Re-open VisualStudio (a reboot was not necessary for me)
4. Go to the VisualStudio Help Menu and click on any of the orphaned TypeMock "help entries"
5. VisualStudio will detect that they are no longer installed and will prompt you whether or not to remove them
6. Click yes
7. Close VisualStudio
8. Re-install any version of TypeMock after v6.0.9 (when this bug was fixed).
9. Re-open VisualStudio and you're good to go :D

There should be 1 TypeMock Help entry and there always will be after subsequent openings of VisualStudio!

HTH

_________________
Dave Black, MCPD, MCTS
.NET Solutions Architect/Developer
http://dave-black.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group